Rectors and Priests of St Philip's

These are the Rectors, Associate Priests and Locums of St Philip's since its beginnings. We have been well served by some much-loved pastors.

In many Anglican churches, the title 'rector' is now used to indicate the minister in charge of the Parish. (It comes from the Latin regere and rector referring to rulership.)

Revd Edward G. ('Ted') Buckle Th L.
Before St Philip's became a separate parochial district and later a parish the O'Connor area was part of the Canberra North Parish led by the Revd Ted Buckle. This picture was taken later in his life. From 1981-1992 Buckle was Assistant Bishop of Auckland.
WarrenRevd Cecil A Warren MA, ThL
1960-63 Rector
Warren was the first priest-in-charge of St Philip's when it became a parochial district in 1960 and its first rector when it was made a Parish in 1961. This picture was taken later, when Warren visited St Philip's as Bishop of Canberra and Goulburn.
Revd W. J. Stanley ('Stan') Atkinson, MC
1962-64 Curate and locum
Stan Atkinson was a footballer in Canberra, an Army officer in Papua New Guinea during WW2, and a public servant after the war. He became a deacon 1960, was ordained priest in 1962 and ministered full-time at St Phillips 1962-64 as curate and locum. He then served in other parishes until retirement in 1976.
HobsonRevd D B Hobson, BA, BD
1963-68 Rector
Revd S W Holmes, BA ThL
1968-73 Rector
ArthurRt Revd Robert G Arthur, MA
1973-74 Rector
Arthur served in the Methodist ministry from 1931-49 and then entered the Anglican ministry. He was appointed Archdeacon and Rector of St John's Canberra in 1953. In 1956, Arthur was consecrated as Assistant Bishop of Canberra and Goulburn and was Bishop of Grafton from 1961-73. He then was rector of St Philip's for two years, before moving to England.
Revd G C Garnsey, MA
1975-78 Rector
WillsonRevd Robert J Willson, BA, LittB, MACE
1979-85 Rector
Revd D Douglas Bannermann, BTech, BTh
1985-95 Rector
OliphantRevd David G Oliphant, MA, BD, BArch, DPS, DipLS
1995-98 Rector
Revd Jane E Foulcher, BA(Hons), GradDipDiv
1997-98 Honorary associate priest

Revd Robert W. Lamerton, ThL
1999-2008 Rector

Rob died while in office as rector and his funeral was held at St Philip's. For memories of Rob please read here.

Revd Dr Raymond Williamson, ThL, MA, PhD, OAM
2008-2009 Locum
NewlandRevd Rebecca M Newland, BTh, MMin
2009-2015 Rector. Rebecca and her husband, David Grice, were farewelled on Sunday 9th August 2015.

Revd Jeannette McHugh, BA, BTh, GradDipCommCounselling, OblSB. Locum, 2015, and honorary associate priestMcHugh
Dundon Revd Dr Colin Dundon, MA(Hons) BD(Hons) PhD
2015-16 Locum Rector
Revd Martin Johnson, BTh, MTh
2016-2023 Rector
Cowdell Revd Canon Professor Scott Cowdell, BSc, BTh, BA (Hons), PhD
2018-2024   Honorary associate priest
Revd Emma Street
Dec 2023–Jun 2024 Locum Rector

St Philip's Anglican Church,
cnr Moorhouse and Macpherson Streets, O'Connor, ACT 2602.